Dr Ibrahim Mohammed Awal - Minister-Designate for Tourism, Arts and Culture

The people of Dagbon Traditional Area overwhelmingly voted for the New Patriotic Party (NPP) at the 2020 general elections.

The NPP won nine out of the 18 Parliamentary seats in the Northern Region with majority of them in the Dagbon Traditional Area.

These are Yendi, Mion, Nantong, Tolon, Gushiegu, Karaga, Tatale-Sanguli and Zabzugu in the Dagbon Kingdom and Bimbila constituency in the Nanung Traditional Area.

The President elect, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo’s votes increased by a satisfactory margin as compared to the 2016 polls.

Then Candidate Akufo-Addo in the 2016 election secured a total of 286, 868 votes. However, votes for Nana Akufo-Addo in the just ended 2020 presidential election increased significantly from the previous figure to a total of 409, 963 votes in the northern region.

Additionally, the NPP for the first time in history also won the presidential elections in almost all the Dagomba populated constituencies in the election.

This accounts for a group calling itself, Dagbon Youth for Peace call for more cabinet ministerial positions for Dagombas in the next government.

According to the group’s Chairman, Mohammed Nyaba, Dagombas really demonstrated their gratitude to Nana Addo’s government for the restoration of peace and unity in the Dagbon Kingdom.

He commended the Minister of Business Development, Dr. Ibrahim Mohammed Awal for his stellar performance in the Dagbon Kingdom which culminated in the the NPP’s resounding victory in the area.

He recalled the construction of the Mion Palace, resourcing the Yaa-Naa, the Yoo-Naa and other initiatives rolled out by the Minister which served as game changer.

Mohammed Nyaba congratulated the President elect, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo and urged him to do more for the Dagbon Kingdom.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here