Ecstasy, disappointments and surprises marked the parliamentary primaries of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) as the governing party is concluding its internal elections ahead of the 2024 general election.

Results of the primaries held on Saturday 27, 2024, which have been described by political pundits as a complete tsunami, saw the re-election bids of about 28 Members of Parliament (MPs) strongly wiped away.

Among the prominent MPs who heavily defeated were Eugene Boakye in Subin constituency; Freda Prempeh, Tano North; Isaac Kwame Asiamah, Atwima Mponua; Tina Mensah, Gbawe; Sarah Adwoa Safo, Dome/Kwabenya; and Kofi Okyere-Agyekum, Fanteakwa South.

However, many young enterprising giants of the NPP were retained at the polls with some fresh additions who are highly capable of retaining and getting more seats for the governing party in the next general election.

Annoh-Dompreh retained

Majority Chief Whip Frank Annoh-Dompreh emerged victorious in Nsawam-Adoagyiri Constituency in the Eastern Region.

He secured a total of 734 votes, while his contender, Hayford Siaw, the CEO of the Ghana Library Authority, garnered 228 votes.

In the lead up to the primary, the majority chief whip who is also the incumbent MP expressed confidence in securing a resounding victory, even though there were financially powerful unseen hands who tried to scuttle his ambition.

Kojo Oppong Nkrumah retained

Minister for Information and MP for Ofoase/Ayirebi constituency also in the Eastern Region Kojo Oppong Nkrumah was retained.

He polled 378 votes to retain the seat, brushing off his nearest contender Mr Maxwell Dwamena who polled 100 votes followed by Mr Eric Owusu Mensah with 92 votes.

Gideon Boako won

In a major upset, Minister of Sanitation and Water Resources, Freda Prempeh, was ousted in the Tano North constituency by Dr. Gideon Boako.

Dr. Boako who is the spokesperson for the Vice President and NPP flagbearer, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, won with 444 votes against Prempeh’s 221.

Francis Asenso-Boakye retained

In the Bantama constituency in the Ashanti Region, incumbent MP Francis Asenso-Boakye won with 650 votes, representing over 78 percent while Ralph Agyapong brother of Kennedy Agyapong polled 186 votes.

Hawa Koomson retained

In the Awutu Senya East, incumbent MP Mavis Hawa Koomson polled 1318 votes, representing over 92 percent while Bernard Danquah had 97 votes with Eric Kweku Boateng polling 15 votes.

Adwoa Safo lost

Incumbent MP for Dome/Kwabenya Sarah Adwoa heavily beaten by her long-time rival Mike Oquaye Jnr.

Mr. Oquaye won by a significant margin as he garnered 1,198 votes, while Sarah Adwoa Safo received 328 votes.

Third contender Sheela Oppong Sakyi secured 186 votes.

Adwoa Safo’s defeat followed criticism for her prolonged absence from the Dome/Kwabenya constituency and in Parliament, during which she traveled abroad for almost a year.

Despite pleas and calls for her to return and fulfill her parliamentary duties, Adwoa Safo remained abroad, prompting disappointment among her constituents.

Upon her return, she apologised to her constituents and sought their support to contest and represent them again in parliament in 2025.

However, the election resulted suggest that her constituents have not forgiven her for abandoning them, as evidenced by the overwhelming support for her rival, Mike Oquaye Jnr.

Akufo-Addo calls for unity

Meanwhile, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has called for unity among members and supporters of the NPP following the party’s parliamentary primaries.

In a statement, the president emphasised the importance of unity within the party to secure victory in the upcoming December 7 general election.

He congratulated both winners and losers of the primaries and urged them to uphold the party’s tradition and unite firmly behind the NPP’s presidential candidate and parliamentary candidates.

President Akufo-Addo stressed the significance of maintaining the party’s tradition of solidarity, emphasising that unity is essential for achieving success in the upcoming elections.

He expressed confidence in the party’s ability to “Break the Eight” and secure another resounding victory, thereby continuing the progress and prosperity agenda for the nation.

President Akufo-Addo also commended the elected parliamentary candidates, noting their blend of experience and youthfulness, and expressed confidence in their ability to secure a majority for the NPP in the ninth Parliament of the Fourth Republic.