Messrs David Apasera (L) and Moses Dani Baah dismissed

The National Executive Committee (NEC) of the People’s National Convention (PNC) has expelled Messrs David Apasera and Moses Dani Baah, the party’s 2020 flagbearer and national chairman respectively for reportedly breaching their constitution.

PNC announced the decision through a communiqué issued after a meeting held in Accra yesterday.

“After a comprehensive discussion of the court’s ruling on the matter brought against the party by Messrs David Apasera and Moses Dani Baah, NEC concluded that the duo have violated Article 14 (a) of the PNC Constitution which states: ‘Any member of the party who is aggrieved by the party’s action and inaction shall within twenty-one (21) days, first seek redress from the internal dispute resolution mechanism of the party and shall have a further right of appeal to congress’”, the party stated in the communiqué.

The NEC, according to the party, “also took notice of a purported Standing Committee meeting which was unduly conveyed and presided over by Messrs Apasera and Dani Baah on May 7, 2022. The said meeting was attended by some members of the party despite an official caution from the party leadership”.

The party added that, “following their penchant for breaching the constitution of the PNC, a behaviour that has obviously disrupted the pursuit of our collective goals and derailed the progress of the party, the membership of Messrs David Apasera and Moses Dani Baah has been terminated.

“This is in accordance with the provisions of the constitution of the PNC, which states in Article 14 (b) that: ‘A member of the party, who is in breach of (a) above, shall be liable to dismissal under this constitution, except otherwise agreed by the National Delegates’ Congress upon an appeal by the said member of the Party’.”


Apart from the dismissals, the PNC has also asked the party members who attended the “unduly conveyed” standing committee meeting to “step aside from their respective positions pending a disciplinary hearing”.

The affected persons included Hajia Hajara Ali, 1st Vice-Chairperson; Alhaji Omar Bekure, 3rd Vice Chairperson; Mr. Abass Nuhu, National Organiser; Mr. Sampson Asampana, Bono Regional Chairman; Mr. Richard Dzreke, Oti Regional Chairman; and Mr Abraham Kaba Hirohito, Ashanti Regional Chairman.

The rest are Mr. Siba Salifu Sakibu, Greater Accra Regional Secretary; Mallam Yakubu Tahir, Western Reginal Chairman; Mr Arimeyao Ali, Ashanti Regional Organiser; Mr. Oliver Ganaku, Volta Regional Secretary; Mr Abdul Samed Nurideen, Bono Regional Secretary; and Ms Hidaya S. Ibrahim, National Women’s Organiser Signed Members of NEC— PNC.