Sunak's new cabinet ministers

Rishi Sunak vowed to fix the “mistakes” of his predecessor’s administration as he entered No10 as Prime Minister.
The new Conservative leader began a comprehensive cabinet reshuffle on Tuesday afternoon, with several ministers who had been loyal to Liz Truss and Boris Johnson losing their Government jobs.
Mr Sunak braced the nation for “difficult decisions” ahead and warned the UK is facing a “profound economic crisis” in his first speech after being asked to form a Government by the King.
He criticised Ms Truss chaotic 50-day tenure, but vowed to unite his party and the country.
In words aimed at addressing the chaos and scandals of the Mr Johnson years and what followed under Ms Truss, he said, “I know he would agree that the mandate my party earned in 2019 is not the sole property of any one individual. It is a mandate that belongs to and unites all of us.”
Mr Sunak was expected to select a cabinet with an eye on the task of uniting his fractious Tory party.
Here is who is in and out at as the new PM forms his Government.

Ministers Out
Jacob Rees-Mogg, an old ally of Boris Johnson and Ms Truss who once branded Mr Sunak a “socialist”, was the first to concede he would not get a job in the new Cabinet and resigned.
Brandon Lewis resigned as Justice Secretary. He said it had been “an honour to have been one of the longest serving Cabinet ministers – having done eight ministerial roles, in five departments, under four Prime Ministers.”
Kit Malthouse was dismissed from his post as Education Secretary.
Levelling Up Secretary Simon Clarke was sacked
Environment Secretary Ranil Jayawardena was fired
Alok Sharma remains COP26 President but will no longer attend Cabinet.
Wendy Morton was out as chief whip after a torrid few weeks that peaked with a Commons vote on fracking descending into farce the night before Ms Truss’s resignation.
Jake Berry was out as Conservative Party Chairman. He said, “All good things must come to an end. I relish the opportunity to serve our great party and my constituents from the backbenches once again.”
Welsh Secretary Robert Buckland resigned saying, “I am leaving the Government at my request but will be supporting Rishi Sunak from the backbenches.”
Work and Pensions Secretary Chloe Smith was sacked and said she would support his premiership from the back benches.
Development minister Vicky Ford who attended cabinet under Liz Truss was also ousted from her job at the Foreign Office.

Ministers In
Jeremy Hunt has been re-appointed Chancellor.
Dominic Raab is back as Deputy Prime Minister and Justice Secretary.
Simon Hart is the new Chief Whip
James Cleverly has been re-appointed Foreign Secretary.
Ben Wallace remains Defence Secretary.
Nadhim Zahawi has been removed from his job as Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, but will remain in the cabinet as Minister without Portfolio and Party Chairman.
Oliver Dowden in as Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, running the Cabinet Office.
Suella Braverman back as Home Secretary – just six days after being forced to resign for sending sensitive official documents from her personal email.
Grant Shapps moved to become Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Secretary.
Penny Mordaunt re-appointed as Lord President of the Council and Leader of the House of Commons
Gillian Keegan made Secretary of State for Education, the sixth person to hold the job in just 13 months.
Mel Stride, the chairman of the Treasury Select Committee, made Secretary of State for Work and Pensions.
Dr Thérèse Coffey moved from Health to become Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.
Steve Barclay appointed Health Secretary, a job he held briefly under Boris Johnson.
Michael Gove made Levelling Up and Housing Secretary after being dramatically sacked by Boris Johnson in July.
Kemi Badenoch reappointed as Secretary of State for International Trade and President of the Board of Trade.
Michelle Donelan stays as Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport.
Chris Heaton-Harris remains Secretary of State for Northern Ireland.
Alister Jack has been reappointed Secretary of State for Scotland.
David TC Davies has been appointed new Secretary of State for Wales, replacing Robert Buckland who resigned from the role earlier on Tuesday.
Lord True CBE has been reappointed Lord Privy Seal and Leader of the House of Lords – positions he has held since Liz Truss took office last month.
Victoria Prentis has been appointed Attorney General.
Jeremy Quin has been made Paymaster General and Minister for the Cabinet Office.
Mark Harper has been appointed Secretary of State for Transport, replacing Anne-Marie Trevelyan in the role.
John Glen has been appointed Chief Secretary to the Treasury.
Johnny Mercer has been made Minister for Veterans’ Affairs in the Cabinet Office.
Tom Tugendhat has been re-appointed as a Minister of State (Minister for Security) in the Home Office. He will attend cabinet.
Gavin Williamson becomes Minister without Portfolio and will also attend cabinet.
Robert Jenrick becomes Minister for Immigration and will also attend cabinet.
Andrew Mitchell MP has been appointed a Minister of State (Minister for Development) in the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office. He will attend Cabinet.

Previous articleNPP Executives, MPs, Presidency In Crunch Meeting Over Ken, Adu Boahen
Next articleNewspaper Frontpages (Wednesday, October 26, 2022)