Mr Eric Kwakye Darfour, Eastern Regional Minister dethroned

Three incumbent Members of Parliament (MPs) of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Central Region have lost their bid to seek re-election into the Legislature in the 2020 general election.

They are Mr Anthony Effah, MP for Asikuma-Obdoben-Brakwa (AOB); Nana Amoako, Upper Denyira East; and Mr Abraham Dwuma Odoom, Twifo Ati-Morkwa.

Dr Festus Awuah Kwofie secured 279 votes to pull a surprise on Nana Amoako who got 249 votes of the total valid votes cast in the Upper Denkyira East Constituency.

Mr Emmanuel Adjei Domson also obtained 245 to beat Anthony Effah in the AOB Constituency, while Mr Ebenezer Obeng Dwamena won with 206 votes to defeat the incumbent Abraham Dwuma Odoom in the Twifo Ati-Morkwa Constituency.

However, all the other nine incumbent MPs in the Region were successfully re-elected to lead the NPP in their respective constituencies in the 2020 Parliamentary and Presidential elections with seven of the aspirants going unopposed.

They are Mr Alexander Afenyo Markin, Efutu; Mrs Mavis Hawa Koomson, MP for Awutu Senya East and Special Development Initiative Minister; Mr Ken Agyapong, Assin Central; Kingsley Ato Cudjoe, MP for Ekumfi and Deputy Fisheries Minister and Mr John Ntim-Fordjour, MP for Assin South.

The rest are Naana Eyiah, Gomoa Central and Mr Kojo Asemanyi, Gomoa East.

Eastern Regional Minister falls

Meanwhile, the Eastern Regional Minister, Mr Eric Kwakye Darfour has failed to win the NPP parliamentary primaries to retain the Nkawkaw seat in the 2020 general election.

He lost to the NPP, Mr Joseph Frimpong, a tutor at the Nkawkaw Senior High School by 159 votes to 206 votes.

The four other contestants including a former Independent MP, Mr Seth Adjei Baah also known as Shaba had 156 votes, while Ms Joyce Opoku Boateng had 82 votes; Mr David Asante, CEO of Ghana Publishing Company had 73 votes, and a former MP, Orkachiri Kwabena Adusah place last with 28 votes.

The 707 delegates from the 66 polling stations, including constituency executives and patrons of the Party cast their votes at the primaries.

There was wild jubilation by the supporters of the Party on some of the principal streets of Nkawkaw when the final results were announced.

Mr Frimpong thanked the delegates for the confidence they had in him and urged those who voted for him and those against him to bury their differences and maximize support for the Party to win the forth coming general election in the Constituency.